How to: Build a Better World – Rutger Bregman in conversation with Matthew D’Ancona

By on March 14, 2019

Rutger Bregman became a viral sensation taking on the billionaires at Davos, he joins us in London to present a bold, farsighted and realistic vision of a better world.

Listen out for Rutger Bregman. He has a big future shaping the future
– Observer

Rutger Bregman is fast becoming the world’s most influential young thinker. The author of four books before the age of 30, including the international bestseller Utopia For Realists, the Dutch historian broke the internet in January when he told a super-rich audience assembled at the World Economic Forum to stop congratulating themselves about philanthropy and start paying a fairer share of tax.

His vision does not stop at reforming the global elite. In conversation with former Spectator editor and liberal conservative journalist Matthew D’Ancona, Bregman will show that we can construct a society with visionary ideas that are, in fact, wholly implementable. Every milestone of civilisation – from the end of slavery to the beginning of democracy – was once considered a utopian fantasy. New utopian ideas such as universal basic income and a fifteen-hour work week can become reality in our lifetime.

From a Canadian city that once completely eradicated poverty, to Richard Nixon’s near implementation of a basic income for millions of Americans, Bregman takes us on a journey through history, beyond the traditional left-right divides, as he introduces ideas whose time has come.

Fans of Steven Pinker, Naomi Klein, Paul Mason, Malcolm Gladwell ought not to miss this inspiring and visionary talk.

Praise for Rutger Bregman:

If you’re fed up with moaning, you owe it to yourself to read this book
– Evening Standard

This is a Read Now book. Nothing dystopian about this one: a young (he’s 29), practical set of ideas for how the next generation can do better.
– Jeanette Winterson

If you’re bored with hackneyed debates, decades-old right-wing and left-wing clichés, you may enjoy the bold thinking, fresh ideas, lively prose, and evidence-based arguments in Utopia for Realists
– Steven Pinker

You may not dream the same dreams as Bregman – but he invites you to take dreaming seriously.
– Will Hutton, Observer


Rutger Bregman
Rutger Bregman is one of Europe’s most prominent young thinkers.

He has published four books on history, philosophy and economics, and has twice been nominated for the prestigious European Press Prize.

The Dutch edition of Utopia for Realists became an international bestseller and has been translated into 28 languages and is sold in 31 territories. Rutger now has over 100K followers on Twitter.

Matthew d’Ancona
Matthew d’Ancona is an award-winning columnist and editor, who writes for The Guardian, London Evening Standard and GQ.

He was previously editor of The Spectator and founding editor-in-chief of Drugstore Culture.

His most recent book, Post-Truth: The New War on Truth and How to Fight Back, received global acclaim.

How to: Build a Better World – Rutger Bregman in conversation with Matthew D’Ancona at Emmanuel Centre on Wednesday 20th March 2019.

Business | How to: Build a Better World – Rutger Bregman in conversation with Matthew D’Ancona
MyGuide2London